• Alert: Mark your calendars: School will be in session Friday, May 24th and Monday, June 17th to make up for February weather-related closures.
Close alert
Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

2018 Washington Teacher of the Year award to be announced


Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction will honor nine finalists from across the state including Gary Coyan of Chimacum School District

Superintendent Chris Reykdal will announce Washington’s 2018 Teacher of the Year at an award ceremony in Seattle on Monday, September 11, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. Nine finalists from across the state were considered for the honor and will be recognized at the ceremony.

WHEN:  Monday, September 11, 2017, 1:30 p.m.
WHERE: JBL Theater (MoPOP)
WHO: State Superintendent Chris Reykdal

Speaker: Camille Jones, 2017 State Teacher of the Year

2018 Finalists:

  • Mandy Manning, Joel E. Ferris High School, Spokane Public Schools, ESD 101
  • Jennifer Tenney, White Swan High School, Mt. Adams School District, ESD 105
  • Ethan Chessin, Camas High School, Camas School District, ESD 112
  • Melissa Charette, Washington Middle School, Olympia School District, ESD 113
  • Gary Coyan, Chimacum High School, Chimacum School District, ESD 114
  • Denisha Saucedo, Kent Elementary, Kent School District, ESD 121
  • Laurie Price, Hanford High School, Richland School District, ESD 123
  • Jon Magnus, Wenatchee High School, Wenatchee School District, ESD 171
  • Linne Haywood, Darrington High School, Darrington School District, ESD 189

Back to School News      Print News Article